• CVM2 - image - 690x350 - icomos panelists

    Nobel Laureate Dr. Peter Agre, JHMRI, addresses audience with panelists

    The inaugural iCOMOS was held on the Twin Cities Campus of the University of Minnesota (April 27-30, 2014) and was an overwhelming success.

    Looking forward to iCOMOS-2016

  • CVM2 - image - 690x350 - porcine virus story

    U of M researchers unveil nation’s first porcine virus rapid detection test

    The first-of-its-kind test, which is available now, provides a way to quickly and cost-effectively identify the presence of U.S. PEDV strains.

  • CVM2 - image - 690x350 - icomos publications

    iCOMOS Publications

    Science Magazine and Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences discuss iCOMOS and the importance of collaboration events

    Read the latest publications

  • cvm2 - image - 690x350 - horses

    Box elder trees linked to fatal disease

    Horse lovers, veterinarians, and scientists alike have long wondered why horses put out to pasture in the fall are so prone to contracting a deadly muscle disease that can kill the animals within days.

Signature Programs

Emerging and Zoonotic Diseases Comparative Medicine Population Systems
CVM2 - Image - 180x180 - emerging and zoonotic diseases
CVM Walcheck Lab WBC CVM2 - Image - 180x180 - population medicine

Signature Program Funding

The Office of the Associate Dean of Research in partnership with the Signature Program steering committee leaders recently awarded approximately $625,000 to CVM research projects and fellowships. The choice to award our Agricultural Experiment Station dollars through this competitive process allows CVM faculty to conduct important research that is leveraged to attain external funding through industry and federal partners. Congratulations to this year's recipients in the Comparative Medicine, Emerging Zoonotic Diseases and Population Systems Signature Programs. 

Research Committee 

Tenured Faculty (3-year staggered terms) 
M. Murtaugh, VBS (2017)
T. Johnson, VBS (2016)
Y. Liang, VBS (2017)
L. Pluhar, VCS (2017)
E. Dickerson, VCS (2018)
F. Kassie, VCS (2016)
J. Bender, VPM (2017)
S. Sreevatsan, VPM (2016), Chair
M. McCue, VPM (2018)

Non-Tenured Faculty (1-year term) 
J. Granick, VCS and M. Pieters, VPM

Ex-Oficio: S. Rao, Ad hoc: M. Rutherford, Postdoc: H. Kumar Mis

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on September 3, 2013